And the winner is…

14May14

 

Well, there’s an old saying about not knowing from whence your next opportunity may come.

When I put out the word last month that I was looking for a writing partner, I had it in my mind that I would find someone who was (a) male, (b) American, and (c) a crime or mystery fiction writer.images

Then one day my little Facebook inbox jingled, and I opened a note from an old Authonomy friend, suggesting that we talk about the idea further. We did so, emailing back and forth for a solid week. By that time, we had worked out a decent outline for a crime/mystery story involving political corruption in Ireland and Boston. And today, with Chapter 3 underway and our business agreement set, I am thrilled to announce that my co-author for the project is none other than Susanne O’Leary!

Susanne is not a man, she is not American, and her preferred genre is romantic comedy. Go figure. But I must say, I’ve read three of her 13 novels, and there is no mystery to her success as an indie author. She has a great sense of humor, draws characters superbly, and most important, she drove me through a complete story line in 7 days when it would have taken me six months on my own. The ease with which we found a mutually entertaining subject was refreshing. Apparently, the Irish love their political corruption as much as we Bostonians

More importantly, though, she promises to keep me focused on the finish line. We are committed to having a first draft completed by September 1.

I’d like to go on gushing about how excited I am about this, but truly, I’d rather get back to holding up my end of the bargain. So let’s hear it for Susanne, and everyone raise a glass and say a prayer that it all goes according to plan!



14 Responses to “And the winner is…”

  1. Reblogged this on Susanne's Blog and commented:
    Pete’s take, which is very flattering…

  2. Thank you, Pete. I’m really looking forward to this too.

  3. That’s great news!

  4. 6 Rick Halpern

    Congratulations, Pete. I truly wish you the best with this new endeavor and look forward to updates. Best, Rick

  5. I hereby give a shout out to Suzanne and raise a glass to you both.

  6. Thank you and cheers!

  7. 11 Peter Robbins

    Good luck with your new venture !

  8. Congratulations to you both!

  9. Thank you, Christine.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 147 other followers

