Does Your Character Need a Lawyer?

18Mar10

Several months back, I joined a non-profit creative writing center called Grubb Street. As one of the benefits of membership, they offered me a free classified ad in their newsletters. Wonderful, but what to advertise?

At the time, I was working on a short story that had a character in a legal entanglement. I actually had to do a bit of case law research to resolve the plot twist. The lightbulb went off, and I submitted this ad:

Legal Fictionist: Does your plot twist on a legal hook? Make sure it sticks. Legal consult for your characters. By the hour.

I thought little of it until I got an email last week by someone whose character lands in front of the state Supreme Judicial Court. My first fictional client.

I never thought to post it here until I discovered today Drs. Laura Diamond and Lydia Kang, who share duties writing Medical/Mental Health Mondays, a weekly post designed to assist writers with their (plot related) medical/mental health issues. Since I have a new character who is a recovering sex addict, I turned to them for some advice.

(My father used to have a sign in his office: Honest Lawyer – One Flight Up. He was on the top floor.)

11 Responses to “Does Your Character Need a Lawyer?”

  1. 1 Terry

    I love your father’s sign in his office. 🙂 This Grubb Street place sounds great. I may need some legal advice for mine and that med advice too. Thanks for posting this!

  2. Welcome, Terry – feel free to email me about your legal problem!

  3. Peter, what an awesome idea and a great service.

    You are my go to man if I ever get in legal trouble–fictionally speaking!

  4. So you finally found a use for those business cards? 🙂

  5. Great idea! It’s always good to have an expert on hand to help out with those issues!

  6. 6 Sheryl Dunn

    Fun idea, Pete.

    BTW, I didn’t have time to comment on your short story recently–loved it, and the writing was super-fine, IMHO.

    Could you please send me your private email address again? I think the one I have for you may have been corrupted by a virus because I got a frantic message from your email saying that you were stranded in an airport somewhere, and needed help.

    Cheers,
    Sheryl

  7. 7 Pete

    I was.

    Thank you for your concern.

    **giggle**

    Same one, it’s still good. But my address book did get wiped out.

  8. 8 Matt

    Great idea. And love your dad’s sign.

  9. 9 Sian

    Grubb Street. That’s from Private Eye, isn’t it? Good title for a writers group, suggesting as it does that the group doesn’t take iteslf too seriously. Rather like your Dad.

  10. They run a lot of cool programs, all the time, for everyone. Most of them aren’t cheap – $250 +/- – but you get what you pay for.

  11. Something I will definitely have to keep in mind. Great idea Pete!


Leave a Reply

